Complex strategy?

What’s good in the hood guys? Today we’ve started our cool journey in the world of strategies. Obviously connecting gameplay with historical importance we are moving on with Europa Universalis IV. The game itself had developed increasingly and gathered thousands of strategy fans all over the world in the last few decades. As for all of us, this week is introductory to the game itself. After running our “single player” mode on one of the strongest states at 1444 with Ottomans, the first question that comes up is -Am I really supposed to know all those small pieces and keep calculating them? Well, even after a few hours in the “Pause” mode, as the guy who’ve done many strategy games in my life, still found many aspects very confusing. I will emphasize the ones which I found special. Let’s analyze step by step:

  1. Estates. Apparently, there are 4 types of “citizens”, who anyhow affecting your inner economy, whereas the game includes a few important points such as loyalty. In order to understand better these topics, I’ve searched a few interesting guidelines. (I am not sure if that is legal). Choosing the right perks allows us to strengthen our economical position, which later allows us to use resources to gain many useful tools in both war and missions.
  2.  Religion. Along with the political aspects, the game forces us to look after the religion inside and outside of the country. This is the first ever game that I played, which involves religion in the game. I’ve found it interesting as if other European or North/South American people will have an opportunity to play this game, we would have more tolerance in “western” nations. Why so? Because, most discriminations come up from weak knowledge of the outside world, therefore I truly believe that this somehow has an impact on it.
  3.  Missions. The missions in the game as I understood are spread as common and special. Those are not the same as the ones in other games where they have chronological events(However these game also has chronological achievements). Whereas, special ones, in our case the rise of the Ottoman empire with the reign of Mehmet II, the great win of modern Istanbul, and the great representation of historical values. For me as a non-Turkish person, it was very useful in case of expansion of my worldview about the country where I am currently absorbing knowledge and culture.

There are many other details such as technologies, diplomacy, army recruitment, etc. They are undoubtedly important points, however, I found those very familiar, as I had some sort of experience. I should admit that the first expression was slightly negative as I was kind of bored with the many small letters depicted on the screen. Looking for those info bars, I was wondering, how it feels to rule the country in real-time. In fact, the game indirectly, but somehow accelerates our leadership skills, where you can try on the skin of a great governor. Taking into consideration all the aspects above, I do believe that you and I are able to find a lot more useful sides of this complex but at the same time very interesting game.

Here is my small progress in the game for one insomniac night 🙂

Leave a comment